Posted: January 1, 1970

More STS success at the KM Teacher of the Year awards.

The best teachers, support staff, and school volunteers the county has to offer were celebrated at the Kent Teacher of the Year Awards 2017 on Friday 19th May 2017. Now in its 14th year, the awards event was staged by the KM Charity Team at new venue the Mercure Great Danes Hotel, Maidstone, where the bubbly was flowing and all nominees where treated to a slap up meal.

Fifty finalists from across Kent, Medway and Bexley attended the glittering evening, which was hosted by Simon Dolby, chief executive of the KM Charity Team, and Nicola Everett, news editor for KMFM.

Assistant Head, Philippa Weaver was nominated by several of her “A” Level students and received the award for Teacher of the Year for the Dover District and attended the event with her husband. Science specialist TA Jo Scott was also nominated, in the Teaching Assistant of the Year category and also won for the Dover District. Both winners wanted to play down their achievements as both felt they are just doing their jobs but it was a great evening to celebrate their successes.


Teacher of the Year Awards 2017 from KM Charity Team on Vimeo.