Colleges

Colleges

All students belong to a vertical tutor group which in turn belongs to one of four colleges; Discovery (yellow), Endeavour (blue), Liberty (red) and Union (green).

The form tutor plays a vital role in providing continuity and cohesion to the student's experience of school life, guiding and supporting the personal, academic and wider achievement of each individual student within the form.

Tutors are involved in the process of monitoring, guiding and supporting students' learning.  The tutor holds a unique position, being in close daily contact with a relatively small group of students throughout their time at the college, to help them prepare to learn, develop successful strategies to improve learning and celebrate students' academic achievements. 

Mentoring is about providing support for individual students beyond the classroom, responding to their difficulties and triumphs, helping them to improve their attitude and approach to learning.  Sometimes this means one-to-one help, focusing as sharply as possible on the needs, attitudes and attributes of each individual learner; sometimes tutoring involves small groups of learners, allowing them to help each other.  The Vertical College System facilitates and develops group relationships between students, creating a college identity and shared sense of purpose.

The most effective relationships are promoted through continuity, consistency, familiarity, individual contact and stability.  The tutor's job is to provide a structure and rules for a secure, caring environment where the young people can feel valued as individuals and have a sense of belonging.

Where concerns about progress, behaviour or wellbeing arise parents are encouraged to contact their child's form tutor in the first instance.

 


DISCOVERY COLLEGE

Sam O'Hara - College Manager James McAuley - Head of College

Sam O'Hara

James McAuley
Tel: 01304 610020 Tel: 01304 610020

E-Mail:

Sam.O'Hara@sandwich-tech.kent.sch.uk

E-Mail:

James.McAuley@sandwich-tech.kent.sch.uk

   

ENDEAVOUR

Domenica Parker - College Manager Alan Cadby - Head of College

Domenica Parker

Alan Cadby

Tel: 01304 610043 Tel: 01304 610043

E-Mail:

Domenica.Parker@sandwich-tech.kent.sch.uk

E-Mail:

Alan.Cadby@sandwich-tech.kent.sch.uk

   

LIBERTY

Tina McCann - College Manager Kerry Higgins - Head of College

Tima McCann

Kerry Higgins

Tel: 01304 610036 Tel: 01304 610036

E-Mail

Tina.Mccann@sandwich-tech.kent.sch.uk

E-Mail:

Kerry.Higgins@sandwich-tech.kent.sch.uk

   

UNION

Mandy Gibb  - College Manager Andrew Brown - Head of College
Mandy Gibb

Andy Brown

Tel: 01304 610009 Tel: 01304 610009

E-Mail:

Mandy.Gibb@sandwich-tech.kent.sch.uk

E-Mail:

Andrew.Brown@sandwich-tech.kent.sch.uk